1394037_10202126375506016_919568922_n

After three days in the mountains with some new friends, I have resolved that we can have close encounters of a third kind when we choose to let go and let God be in the midst of things. God the Father, Son and Holy Spirit is the close encounter I am referring to.

I had a great encounter this weekend with seven other women (six who I did not know until this weekend). We met in the mountains on Friday. We ate, shared, ate, laughed, ate, relaxed, ate, shopped and ate during those three days. Our time together was precious and made me realize the importance of true friendship. I had the pleasure of sitting back and watching these women who were friends in high school reunite and it was one of the best experiences of my life.

I didn’t have many friends growing up. It seemed we moved too much due to my father being in the Air Force. So once he retired and we settled down, I began to make friends. The friends I made, however, were poor choices on my part because of my shyness and insecurity. I was eager to please and didn’t really understand what true friendship was. So for many years I lived with the fact that friends will let you down, use you and only be with you if they had nothing better to do.

As I grew older, I found out that there are true friends. There are true friends who you can count on no matter what. These friends are there to support, encourage and laugh with. These friends are positive, motivating and inspiring. True friends don’t bring others down. They lift them up.

What a great time we can have with our friends when we are looking to help one another and not pull each other down. There are friends who we can rely on. There are friends who we can share with. There are friends who will take our encouraging words and use those words to make great things happen. There are great godly friends who can help when you need it and who you can share with without judgment.

If you haven’t had a chance to encounter with great godly friends, that is my challenge to you. Find some people who you know or you don’t know very well and decide to spend time with them to encourage, motivate and learn from each other so you can experience a close encounter of the third kind.

 

